I desperately need some new specs at the moment. My current pair are about five years-old and very crooked – let’s just say they don’t make me look like the sharpest knife in the drawer and I wouldn’t be caught dead in them outside the house. If I had a nice pair, I’d definitely be happier to wear them out and about some days and I suspect it would be better for my eyes.

One of the reasons I have put off replacing them for so long is that after my last shopping excursion for glasses (as I say, at least five years back), I was under the impression that nice glasses were hard to find.

However, a Groupon-induced look around www.glassesdirect.co.uk proved me wrong. I would never have expected to find affordable vintage-style glasses on a site like that. I didn’t buy the Groupon voucher in the end as I have been stung by terms and conditions too many times in the past, but I am still thinking of plumping for these two pairs when I get paid and best of all, it’s two for one on everything over £59 so one pair should be free!

Lucky Brand Stealie

Glassesdirect Lucky Brand Stealie glasses: £119

Belladonna

Glassesdirect Belladonna glasses: £69

I need to get me to the optician for an updated prescription without delay!